Telephone (featuring Beyonce) by Lady Gaga

Lady Gaga’s hit song, as of this writing, is at #3 in the US’ Top 10 iTunes chart, #9 in the UK and is currently charting at #1 in the Billboard Pop Songs. It was co-written by Rodney Jerkins (if you listen closely, you will hear “Darkchild” which is the trademark of all the songs he wrote) originally for Britney Spears but her record label said no to it. Well, Britney’s loss is Gaga’s gain and I’m sure Britney is now shouting at all the people responsible for dismissing that song.

I was playing my iPod the other day and immediately after Telephone, the Eurythmics’ Sweet Dreams played and wow, the combination of the 2 blew my mind away. Try it and let me know if you agree with me, ok?

The Eurythmics’ lead vocalist back then is the amazing Annie Lennox.

Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This) by The Eurythmics

The song was released in 1983 and reached #2 in the UK Singles Chart and #1 in the US Billboard Hot 100. At that time, Annie Lennox helped propel her group to popularity because of her androgynous looks, with her short cropped hair and men’s suits outfits. If you think about it, she was like the 80’s answer to Lady Gaga.

Whether you agree with me or not is not my concern. One thing I can say for sure is: both songs are catchy and are worth listening to. 🙂

Share